Tough competition for title defender Kristoff

Tough competition for title defender Kristoff

Road  30/03/2023

Alexander Kristoff will be looking for his 3rd victory in the Scheldeprijs on Wednesday 5 April. But winning will not be an easy task for the Norwegian, because the likes of Jakobsen, Philipsen, Thijssen, Ewan and Cavendish, with their explosive speed, will be at the start in Terneuzen.

Alexander Kristoff may pin number one on his jersey on 5 April. The Norwegian starts for the Uno-X Pro Cycling Team together with his compatriot Søren Wærenskjold. Besides Kristoff, several other former winners will also be competing in the Scheldeprijs. Fabio Jakobsen, who like Kristoff has already won twice in Schoten, defends the colours of Soudal Quick-Step. Jasper Philipsen, winner in 2021, is the spearhead at Alpecin-Deceuninck.

Mark Cavendish, three times a winner of the Scheldeprijs, but his last victory dates back to 2011. The Brit from Astana Qazaqstan Team joins Cees Bol at the start. Caleb Ewan has been able to celebrate one success in Schoten. The Australian won the 2020 edition and represents Lotto Dstny once again this year.

Bora-hansgrohe depends on the sprint of Sam Bennett, runner-up in 2021. The Irishman is joined by Jordi Meeus. Team DSM is counting on Sam Welsford, third last year, while Edward Theuns is looking for success with Trek - Segafredo. The Belgian was second in the Scheldeprijs in 2015. Cofidis also has a rider who knows what it is like to be on the Scheldeprijs podium - Maximilian Walscheid, runner-up in 2019.

Intermarché - Circus - Wanty brings man in form Gerben Thijssen to Terneuzen. Team Jayco Alula opt for the sprinter’s legs of Dylan Groenewegen. Also on the provisional start list are the names Daniel McLay (Team Arkea – Samsic), Matteo Moschetti (Q36.5 Pro Cycling Team) and Sasha Weemaes (Human Powered Health).

We will find out who will succeed Alexander Kristoff on Wednesday 5 April at around 17:15. Discover the provisional start list here.