13 WorldTeams and 10 ProTeams in search of victory in Scheldeprijs 2021

11 March 2021

Only five months after the previous edition in October, it is time for the Scheldeprijs again. The oldest Flemish spring classic, traditionally an opportunity for the sprinters to show their speed, will have 14 UCI WorldTeams and 11 UCI ProTeams competing for victory on 7 April, starting in Terneuzen, across Zealand and heading to Schoten.

Among the 13 UCI WorldTeams at the start, Belgium's Lotto Soudal, the team of defending champion Caleb Ewan, is ready to extend last year's success. Deceuninck - Quick-Step, the team of Irish sprinter Sam Bennett, will also be at the start in Terneuzen, as will Intermarché - Wanty - Gobert Matériaux. Three French WorldTeams, AG2R Citroën Team, Cofidis and Groupama-FDJ will also compete for the top spot. UAE Team Emirates and Trek-Segafredo will also be present. Astana-Premier Tech, Team DSM, Team Qhubeka Assos and Israel Start-Up Nation will also start, as will Bora-hansgrohe, the German team that last year lost out on its second place of Pascal Ackermann after being relegated.  

In addition, 10 UCI ProTeams will be using their best sprinters to win on the Churchilllaan in Schoten. Alpecin-Fenix, the team of sprinters Merlier, Philipsen and Jans, and Team Arkéa-Samsic, the team of fast racers Bouhanni and Capiot, are ready in Terneuzen. French teams B&B Hotels P/B KTM, the team of last year's number 3 Bryan Coquard, and Total Direct Energie of runner-up Niccolò Bonifazio will also be at the start. Finally, Bingoal WB, Delko, Rally Cycling, Sport Vlaanderen - Baloise, Uno-X Pro Cycling Team and Vini Zabù and the UCI Continental Teams BEAT Cycling and Evopro Racing complete the list.

Who will be the fastest in the unofficial world championships for sprinters on 7 April in Schoten, Belgium, remains to be seen. The actual list of participants will be announced later.

Related news